8:00 am Registration at Henrico Ballroom
Breakfast Buffet in Glen Restaurant
9:00 amOpening Activities• Welcome and Prayer: Jerry Fortune (Rappahannock Tribe)
• Drum Song: Maskapow Drum Group
• Procession of Flag Bearers: Native American Women Warriors and Tribes
• Procession of the Chiefs
9:15 amOpening Remarks and Introduction of the Chiefs• Chief Anne Richardson (Rappahannock Tribe)
9:30 amEconomic Development and Sovereignty• Jerry Pardilla (United South and Eastern Tribes)
10:30 amPanel: Supporting Indigenous Led Economic Development and Climate Solutions
on Indian Lands: Barriers and Opportunities
• Melissa Ehrenreich, Facilitator
(Indigenous Conservation Council for the Chesapeake Bay)
• Bryan Van Stippen (National Indian Carbon Coalition)
• Heather Richards (The Conservation Fund)
• Marcie Kapsch
(Rappahannock River Valley National Wildlife Refuge)
12:30 pmLunch Break
Lunch Buffet in Glen Restaurant
2:00 pmStory Mapping• John Jastram (United States Geological Survey)
• Nina Brundle (Virginia Commonwealth University)
• Annie Scott (United States Geological Survey)
2:45 pmTribal Tourism Post-COVID• Sherry Rupert
(American Indian and Alaska Native Tourism Association)
3:30 pmRefreshment Break
3:45 pmLand and Water Conservation Funding• Michael Spears (Anthropological Research, LLC)
4:00 pmBureau of Indian Affairs Office of Strategic Partnerships• Wizipan Little Elk Garriott
(Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary – Indian Affairs, U.S. Department of the Interior)
4:45 pmClosing• Chief Anne Richardson (Rappahannock Tribe)
• Color Guard: Native American Women Warriors
5:00 pmConference Adjourns